Online vs real world bravery

26 Feb

In the real world, put a cute guy in front of me and I shut up shop in terms of my nerves. I can have a normal conversation with them, but I can’t string the words together to express how I’m feeling, whether I want to see them again (which if I’m talking to them for longer than 5 minutes, it’s a resounding YES!) for the fear of rejection.

I’ve just realised this – because I’m internet dating again. After he instigated the messages, I finally threw in the casual comment of ‘Want to get a drink at some stage?’ Well.  I’ve never received a response quicker than this mornings message.  A resounding yes, and a suggestion for this weekend.  Isn’t that nice!

So why then, when I “internet date” I’m free, no fear, no reservations and just don’t care.  Why can’t I translate this freedom and nonchalant-ness to real life. What do I need to do to become braver?

My thoughts are losing the whole “care factor”.  On the internet I really don’t care, lets apply this to real life and see what happens.

I hope it works, because quite frankly I’m over being single in the suburbs, I need to work on this problem with some gusto.

Otherwise, got any better suggestions world?

Leave a Reply

Delicious History

Exploring the past one bite at a time

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

The Holistic Ingredient

One woman's take on whole foods, clean living and boundless energy.

Natural Eye Care

Looking after and improving your vision, naturally

Love.Life.Yoga.

Musings About Stuff I Love, Life, and Yoga

psiakisterri

Comedian/Writer/Broadcaster

